Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


EECS Faculty and Students Recognized in Chancellor’s Honors

EECS faculty and students were among those recognized in the 2020 Chancellor’s Honors. The Chancellor’s Honors Banquet is held each spring to recognize students, faculty, staff, and friends of the University of Tennessee for their extraordinary achievements. While we were unable to hold the 2020 banquet and awards had to be presented remotely, we celebrate the accomplishments of our most recent honorees. Congratulations to all of the honorees! 

Check out the full list of winners.

Faculty Awards

Excellence in Teaching: Max Schuchard
This honor is bestowed by the Office of the Chancellor and the Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate to honor outstanding work in the classroom.

Research and Creative Achievement—Professional Promise: Daniel Costinett
This award honors faculty members who are early in their careers for excellence in research, scholarship, and creative achievement.

Graduate & Undergraduate Student Awards

2020 Extraordinary Professional Promise

Extraordinary Professional Promise honors are awarded to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate professional promise in teaching, research, or other contributions.

  • Chandler Bauder
  • Xianda Deng
  • Yan Du
  • Wei Feng
  • Farnaz Foroughian
  • Handong Gui
  • Shahram Hesari
  • Chengcheng Li
  • Samaneh Morovati
  • Clara Nguyen
  • Kellen Oleksak
  • Farshid Tamjid

Undergraduate Student Awards

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year: Alec Yen
The Undergraduate Researcher of the Year award honors a junior or senior who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate research through independent inquiry, classes, and student employment.

2020 Extraordinary Academic Achievement

Extraordinary Academic Achievement honors are awarded to undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.

  • Katelyn Bolinsky
  • Gary Burns
  • Alec Yen

2020 Top Collegiate Scholars

The Top Collegiate Scholar Awards honor undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.

  • Sean Toll
  • Alec Yen