Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


2020 EECS Gonzalez Family Awards Announced

The Min H. Kao Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science is pleased to announce the 2020 Gonzalez Family Awards, for excellence in teaching, excellence in research and for staff excellence.

The Gonzalez Family Awards also include awards for outstanding students, undergraduate teaching assistant, and graduate teaching assistants.

Congratulations to all of our fantastic EECS faculty, staff and student winners!

2020 Award Winners

Jens GregorJack DongarraAlaa AlharziBrandon Herriage

Left to Right: Jens Gregor, Jack Dongarra, Alaa Alharzi, Brandon Herriage

  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Excellence in Teaching—Jens Gregor
  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Excellence in Research—Jack Dongarra
  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Staff Excellence—Alaa Alharzi and Brandon Herriage

Outstanding Student Awards:

  • Electrical Engineering
    • Electrical Engineering Sophomore—Noah Archer
    • Electrical Engineering Junior—Matthew Jones
    • Electrical Engineering Senior—Roy Tan
  • Computer Engineering
    • Computer Engineering Sophomore—Katherine Huckabay
    • Computer Engineering Junior—Austin Jones
    • Computer Engineering Senior—Samuel Jones
  • Computer Science
    • Computer Science Sophomore—Owen Queen
    • Computer Science Junior—Daniel Troutman
    • Computer Science Senior—Abigail Prosise

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant:

  • Alec Yen

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants:

  • Adam Foshie (Computer Engineering)
  • Jingjing Sun (Electrical Engineering)
  • Clara Nguyen (Computer Science)