Skip to content

Welcome to EECS


Welcome to the Min H. Kao Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Picture of Dr. Gregory PetersonScience at the University of Tennessee. We are the largest department in the College of Engineering with over 40 faculty members, who are respected, world-class leaders in their fields and are dedicated to teaching students and aiding them in developing the technical and communication skills necessary to have successful careers. Our rigorous curriculum prepares students to be successful in their future profession and offers the flexibility for students to choose courses that match their interest areas. Our department is located in the Min H. Kao Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Building, a 150,000 square foot facility that opened in 2012. The building houses state-of-the-art instructional facilities, including teaching laboratories with the latest electrical and electronic equipment, computers, and software so that students will receive an education using the modern tools and techniques expected of new graduates.

We have three academic programs: computer science, computer engineering, and electrical engineering, and we offer three degrees for each of the programs: BS, MS, and PhD. We are a diverse department with varied research and teaching interests including: artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, embedded systems, electronics, high performance computing, power and energy, visualization and image processing, and wireless and sensor networks.

Please explore our website to learn more about the department’s academic programs, research activities, faculty, and more. You can also find us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram.

I hope that you will pursue one of the challenging degree programs offered by our department and earn a degree that enables you to embark on a life-long career that you would find personally rewarding and financially fruitful.

Gregory Peterson

Department Head

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.