Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

EECS Students, Faculty Members and Supporters Honored at Spring Awards Banquet

The EECS Spring Awards Banquet and reception was held April 25 in the Min Kao building.  Presented by ACM, IEEE and Systers- Women in EECS@UTK, the banquet was a chance to honor 2013-2014’s outstanding students, faculty and EECS supporters.  Congratulations to all of these award winners!

Student-Nominated Awards

CS Faculty Award- Dr. Jim Plank (picture not available)

ECE Faculty Award- Dr. Kamrul Islam             EECS IT Staff Award- Bryan Burke                   EECS Staff Award- Kim Cox



CS TA Award- Shawn Cox                                      ECE TA Award- Ifana Mahbub



Student Team Awards

ACM Programming Team MVP- Jeramy Harrison

IEEE Robotics Team:

Hardware MVP- Alex Roschli & Software MVP- David Combs                Graduate Team MVP- David Jackson



Faculty-Nominated Awards

Freshman of the Year- Summer Church          Sophomore of the Year- Natalie Beitel            Junior of the Year- Jessica Boles


Senior of the Year- Ben Arnold                           Excellence in Research Award- Katie Schuman       Student Leadership Award- Denise Koessler

                        (picture not available)

Departmental Service Award

Dr. H.M. “Hash” Hashemian


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System