Skip to content

2019 Gonzalez Family Awards Banquet


On Thursday, April 25, the Min H. Kao Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science held its annual Gonzalez Family Awards Banquet.  Department Head Dr. Greg Peterson hosted the event and presented awards to outstanding students, undergraduate teaching assistants, graduate research assistants and graduate teaching assistants.  He also presented the Gonzalez Family Awards for excellence in teaching, excellence in research and for staff excellence.  Retired professor Asa O. Bishop was honored as an EECS emeritus faculty member, as well.


2019 Award Winners:

  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Excellence in Teaching- Dr. Michael W. Berry
  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Excellence in Research- Dr. Fred Wang
  • The Gonzalez Family Award for Staff Excellence- Dana Bryson and Melanie Kelley


Outstanding Student Awards:

  • Electrical Engineering Sophomore- Gary Burns
  • Electrical Engineering Junior- Yaw Mensah
  • Electrical Engineering Senior- Kendra Anderson
  • Computer Engineering Sophomore- Samantha Zimmermann
  • Computer Engineering Junior- Samuel Jones
  • Computer Engineering Senior- Jonathan Ambrose
  • Computer Science Sophomore- Michael Wermert
  • Computer Science Junior- Austin Park
  • Computer Science Senior- Charles Rizzo


Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant:

  • Adam Short


Outstanding Graduate Research Assistants:

  • Yan Du
  • Sherif Amer
  • Handong Gui
  • Yunhe Feng
  • Firoozeh Sepehr


Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants:

  • Aysha Shanta
  • Rachel Offutt
  • Jordan Sangid
  • Farnaz Foroughian


Congratulations to all of our fantastic EECS faculty, staff and student winners!



The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.